Collegiate hoops in May

Filed under: Basketball,Gallery,Latest Posts,Slider,Stills |

basabalvarezTHE tail-end of Australia’s autumn in May will usher in the Filipino community’s 2016 Philippine Collegiate Basketball Cup competition.


Organising this year’s Cup is Western Sydney Basketball Association, and the venue moves to Kevin Betts Basketball Stadium in Mount Druitt.

“The competition will have an identical format to that of last year but with additional support services such as game stats and other details to assist teams’ coaching staff,” said association head honcho Cromwell Alvarez.

Chief organiser Karlo Basa said preparations would start immediately. “We are calling a meeting of team captains and coaches for consultation on format details,” Basa said.

“We want the input of teams to run this competition.”

Last year’s field comprised eight teams from alumni and “bloodlines” of Jose Rizal College, Mapua Institute of Technology, Philippine Tech Schools, Angeles Schools, La Salle University, University of the Philippines, Adamson University, and Ateneo schools.

Ateneo won the ‘Universities’ division championship, with Adamson runner-up.

Jose Rizal College won the ‘Colleges’ division, with Angeles Schools runner-up.

Jose Rizal defeated Ateneo for the overall championship.

Trophies went to the winners and runners-up.

Ateneo’s point guard Travis Mantua was named the overall championship’s most valuable player.

A perpetual shield was presented to the Jose Rizal College team champion. The shield, donated by The Grace Hotel in Sydney, is now on display on a marble pedestal in the main dining room of The Grace Hotel, on 77 York Street, corner Kings Street.



Karlo Basa, left, and Cromwell Alvarez start planning the 2016 Philippine Collegiate Basketball Cup competition at Mount Druitt’s Kevin Betts basketball stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *